ARCS Scientist of the Year

Honolulu Chapter Honors Outstanding University of Hawai‘i Faculty

Patricia Lee and Margaret McFall-Ngai in lei

Since 1983, ARCS Honolulu Chapter annually honors one University of Hawai‘i at Manoa faculty member as its Scientist of the Year.

The award recognizes recipients both for their own remarkable research careers and for their role as outstanding mentors to young scientists, so it is no suprise that many have also been advisors to ARCS Honolulu Scholars.Scientists of the Year are asked to speak at the Scholar Banquet or another ARCS Event.

At right, ARCS Honolulu member Patricia "Patty" Lee, left, congratulated 2019 ARCS Scientist of the Year Dr. Margaret McFall-Ngai, who subsequently became a member of the chapter.

ARCS Anthurium with Haruyuki Kamemoto headshot inset
1990 Scientist of the Year and ground-breaking horticulturalist Haruyuki Kamemoto created a purple anthurium through complex cross-breeding and named it in honor of the ARCS Foundation’s support for students in the University of Hawai‘i’s College of Tropical Agriculture and other programs. The late Dr. Kamemoto and his protege, 2008 Scientist of the Year Adelheid Kuehnle, who introduced molecular breeding techniques, played important roles in Hawai‘i’s transition from plantation economy to diversified agriculture.
Dr. George Walker inset on East Iceland map and museum
The ARCS Foundation name can be found in the oldest building in Breiðdalsvík, Iceland thanks to 1987 Scientist of the Year George P. L. Walker, the acclaimed University of Hawai‘i geologist widely considered to be the father of modern volcanology. Tucked atop a file cabinet In a recreation of his academic office exhibited at the Breiðdalssetur Research and Heritage Center is the engraved koa bowl presented to the late Dr. Walker by the Honolulu Chapter. Among his many international honors, Dr. Walker received Iceland’s Order of the Falcon (the equivalent of a knighthood) for revolutionizing understanding of the island’s geology.

ARCS Honolulu
Scientists of the Year

Scientist of the Year Pauhana Talks