Current News

Honolulu Awards 20 ARCS Scholar Grants in 2022

Posted on Saturday, May 21, 2022

University of Hawai‘i at Manoa Institute for Astronomy doctoral candidate Miles Lucas and John A. Burns School of Medicine PhD student Nicholas Kawasaki were named 2022 ARCS Scholars of the Year at ARCS Foundation Honolulu Chapter’s 2022 Scholar Awards Banquet on May 5. Lucas received the Jacquie Maly ARCS Scholar of the Year Award for best presentation in physical sciences at the ARCS Scholar Symposium earlier in the spring. Kawasaki received the Sherry Lundeen ARCS Scholar of the Year Award for best presentation in the biological sciences.

ARCS Honolulu Chapter provided the two $1,000 Scholar of the Year grants in addition to $5,000 ARCS Scholar Award funding awarded to all 20 University of Hawai‘i at Manoa PhD candidates named ARCS Scholars in 2022. The 2022 awards were made within six UH Manoa units. For more information about each scholar, including links to videos in which they describe their research, see, or view the awards banquet photos. ARCS scholars, Honolulu Chapter, University of Hawaii at Manoa

Standing, from left: Shannon Wilson, Nicholas Kawasaki, Ahmed Afifi, Kazuumi Fujioka, Rintaro Hayashi, Jason Hinkle, Benjamin Strauss, Ana Flores, Aneesa Golshan, Holden Jones, Sarah Tucker
Kneeling, from left: Miles Lucas, Trey Carney, Helen Sung, Katie Lee, Marley Chertok

Not pictured: Rina Carrillo, TJ Corrigan, Keven Keefe, Shannon McClish



Honolulu ARCS Scholars of the Year Miles Lucas and Nicholas Kawasaki