Honolulu ARCS Scholar Symposium

ARCS Honolulu Chapter's 2023 ARCS Scholars will present their research in a free, open public session. Presentations will be in two sessions, those in the physical sciences beginning at 9 a.m., and those in biological sciences beginning about 11:30 a.m.

This year's scholars (listed below) will receive $5,000 grants to support their research efforts. A panel of judges will select two of the scholars for additional $1,000 ARCS Scholar of the Year awards, one each in biological and physical sciences.

Winners will be announced at  Reach for the Stars, the Honolulu ARCS Scholar Dinner on May 2 at Outrigger Canoe Club. RSVP by April 17 at tinyurl.com/2023Scholar or email arcshonolulu@gmail.com for more information.

Saturday parking for any unreserved stall on the UH Manoa campus may be purchased for $5 at automated pay stations. Map and more information at https://manoa.hawaii.edu/commuter/visitors

2023 Honolulu ARCS Scholars

ARCS Foundation Honolulu Award
Leon Tran (Marine Biology)

Asteriadis ARCS Award
Nina Allan (Cell and Molecular Biology)

Kai Bowden ARCS Award
Lance Nunes (Developmental and Reproductive Biology)

Bretzlaff Foundation ARCS Award
Corrisa Heyes (Mechanical Engineering)

Columbia Communications ARCS Award
Anna Payne (Astronomy)

George and Mona Elmore ARCS Awards
Katherine Ackerman (Atmospheric Sciences)

Alexa Anderson (Astronomy)
Gabrielle Stedman (Oceanography)

H. Keith and Sue Ernst ARCS Award
Christopher Ketter (Physics)

Helen Jones Farrar ARCS Award
Connor Auge (Astronomy)

Ellen M. Koenig ARCS Award
Valentina Alvarez (Zoology)

Stephen Holden Jones (Botany)

Frederick M. Kresser ARCS Award
Matthew Nakamura (Mechanical Engineering)

Toby Lee ARCS Award
Evan Kelly (Earth Sciences)

Dr. Jacqueline Maly ARCS Award
Lauren Braley (Tropical Plant Pathology)

Sarah Ann Martin ARCS Awards
Shane Goettl (Chemistry)

Arturo Jaime (Mathematics)

Joseph Parker ARCS Award
Tyler Goodearly (Nutrition–Animal Sciences)

Maybelle F. Roth ARCS Awards in Conservation Biology
Jordan Gossett (Zoology)

Josefa Muñoz (Marine Biology)

Guy Moulton Yates ARCS Award
Troy Odo (Tropical Medicine)


April 15th, 2023 9:00 AM   through   2:00 PM
1680 East-West Road
POST 723
University of Hawai‘i at Manoa
Honolulu, HI 96822
United States

Show large map
Webinar Event
Webinar Key

Help spread the word

Please help us and let your friends, colleagues and followers know about our page: Honolulu ARCS Scholar Symposium

You can also share the below link in an email or on your website.