ARCS Honolulu Chapter Honors Scientists of the Year

Patricia Lee and Margaret McFall-Ngai in lei

Since 1983, ARCS Honolulu Chapter annually honors one University of Hawai‘i at Manoa faculty member as the Scientist of the Year. The award recognizes recipients for both their own outstanding research careers and their roles as outstanding mentors to young scientists. Many have been ARCS Scholar advisors.

ARCS Honolulu member Patricia "Patty" Lee, left, congratulated Scientist of the Year Dr. Margaret McFall-Ngai at Outrigger Canoe Club in 2019

Honolulu ARCS Scientists of the Year are:

  • Mark Hixon, Zoology (2021)
  • Loic LeMarchand, University of Hawai‘i Cancer Research Center (2020)
  • Margaret McFall-Ngai, Pacific Biosciences Research Center (2019)
  • Karen Meech, Institute for Astronomy (2018)
  • Richard Yanagihara, John A. Burns School of Medicine (2017)
  • Brent Tully, Institute for Astronomy (2016)
  • Ruth Gates, Hawai‘i Institute of Marine Biology (2015)
  • Sheila Conant, Zoology (2014)
  • Angel Yanagihara, John A. Burns School of Medicine (2013)
  • Bin Wang, Meteorology (2012)
  • Cecilia Shikuma, John A. Burns School of Medicine (2011)
  • Hope Jahren, Geochemistry (2010)
  • Margo Edwards, Geophysics and Planetology (2009)
  • Adelheid Kuehnle, Tropical Plant and Soil Science (2008)
  • John Learned, Physics (2007)
  • Marla J. Berry, John A. Burns School of Medicine (2006)
  • Laurence Kolonel, University of Hawai‘i Cancer Center (2005)
  • John Tonry, Institute for Astronomy (2004)
  • Robert Bidigare, Oceanography (2003)
  • Charles Boyd, John A. Burns School of Medicine (2002)
  • John Madey, Physics (2001)
  • Isabella Abbott, Botany (2000) deceased
  • David Bercovici, Geology and Geophysics (1999)
  • E. Alison Kay, Zoology (1998) deceased
  • Ronald Mau, Environmental Science (1997)
  • David Jewitt, Institute for Astronomy (1996)
  • Fred Mackenzie, Oceanography (1995)
  • Gillian Bryant-Greenwood, John A. Burns School of Medicine (1994)
  • Goro Uehara, Tropical Plant and Soil Science (1993) deceased
  • Anne Alvarez, Plant Pathology (1992)
  • Klaus Wyrtki, Oceanography (1991) deceased
  • Haruyuki Kamemoto, Tropical Plant and Soil Science (1990) deceased
  • Marian Melish, John A. Burns School of Medicine (1989)
  • James Brewbaker, Horticulture (1988) deceased
  • George Walker, Geology and Geophysics (1987) deceased
  • David Karl, Oceanography (1986)
  • Donald Hussong, Geology and Geophysics (1985)
  • Philip Helfrich, Hawai‘i Institute of Marine Biology (1984)
  • Eric Becklin, Institute for Astronomy (1983)


Scholar Alumna Pays it Forward

Pamela Hallock Muller, headshot“ARCS Honolulu Chapter provided recognition that my efforts and education were a worthwhile investment at a time when others could see little future for me.”

1976 Honolulu ARCS Scholar and Tampa Chapter member Pamela Hallock Muller was named one of 25 Top Women Professors in Florida. The University of South Florida marine scientist overcame gender discrimination and has mentored 60 graduate students, 10 of them from underrepresented minorities.

Award Makes Valuable Travel Possible

Jordan Posner in Stockholm“This was such a rewarding experience.  Without this award, attending this meeting would have been impossible.”

University of Hawai‘i at Manoa medical school student Jourdan Posner was able to give a short talk, present a poster and network with cutting edge immunologists at a 2016 Keystone Symposium on B Cells in Stockholm thanks to travel funds from her Roche/ARCS Foundation Scholar Award. Read more

ARCS Honolulu's East Iceland Connection

George Walker exhibit in IcelandThe ARCS Foundation name can be found in the oldest building in Breiðdalsvík, Iceland—on a koa bowl tucked atop a file cabinet that is part of an exhibit at the Breiðdalssetur Research and Heritage Center. The exhibit recreates the academic office of acclaimed University of Hawai‘i geologist George P. L. Walker, widely considered to be the father of modern volcanology. The bowl names him the Honolulu Chapter’s 1987 Scientist of the Year. The late Dr. Walker's international honors included Iceland’s Order of the Falcon (the equivalent of a knighthood) for revolutionizing understanding of the island’s geology.